U23 players make their first team debut

A young West Ham side lost to Dinamo Zagreb in their final Europa League group game.

Having already qualified for the last 16, David Moyes was able to rest some first-teamers with a busy month ahead.

In doing so he gave first starts to five youth players: Jamal Baptiste, Emmanuel Longelo, Aji Alese, Ashby and Sonny Perkins. Plus late on, Moyes was able to bring on Keenan Forson and Freddie Potts, whose defender father Steve played more than 500 times for the club.

Their lack of experience showed as they went behind to the Croatian Champions after only three minutes when Mislav Orsic curled the ball into the top corner from the edge of the box.

There is a three month break before the next stage in the Europa League. In other news the FA Cup Third Round tie between West Ham and Leeds has been picked as a live TV game, and will be shown on ITV on Sunday 9th January.

ScoopDragon Football News Network

About the author

Ant McGinley

Broadcast Journalist

Related posts

West Ham miss out on Europa League spot after 3-1 loss at Brighton audio
West Ham missed the chance to snatch a dramatic Europa League return after squandering a lead to lose 3-1 to Brighton at the Amex Stadium.
Preview: Brighton host West Ham aiming for top half finish audio
Brighton can secure their first ever top half Premier League finish if they beat West Ham at home on the final day
Manchester City suffer Premier League title stumble at West Ham audio
Manchester City’s Premier League title push has suffered a major wobble this weekend as they drew 2-2 away at West Ham.
Preview: Manchester City have one hand on the title as they face West Ham audio
Manchester City are potentially a win away from retaining the Premier League title, though standing in their way is West Ham as the Champions travel to the capital on Sunday
Find your next favourite sport podcast
Athletics Basketball Cricket Fight Sports Football Golf Horse Racing Motor Racing Rugby Tennis
Sport Social: The home of sport
Aston Villa
Brighton and Hove Albion
Crystal Palace
Leeds United
Leicester City
Manchester City
Manchester United
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United
Wolverhampton Wanderers