Boxing Day goalfest at the Etihad

Nine goals were shared at the Etihad in a Boxing Day Classic that saw Man City come out on top in a 6-3 win over Leicester.

The home side had raced into a four-nil lead after just 25 minutes with goals from De Bruyne, Mahrez, Gundogan, and Sterling.

Leicester limped into half-time looking like they just wanted the game to be over but came out in the second half with real fire getting themselves back into it, scoring three goals in just 10 minutes from Madison, Lookman, and Iheanacho giving the travelling supporter’s hope.

However, that hope lasted all of four minutes when Aymeric Laporte headed into squash any chance of a remarkable turnaround before Man of the Match Raheem Sterling, completed the rout with his second near the end.

A ninth straight win for Manchester City sees them open a six-point lead at the top of the table, while the result leaves Leicester in 10th.

ScoopDragon Football News Network

About the author

Ant McGinley

Broadcast Journalist

Leave a Reply

Related posts

Brighton pounce late again to seal 1-1 Leicester draw audio
Brighton have kept up their impressive habit of late comebacks this weekend as the Seagulls secured a 1-1 draw away at Leicester.
Manchester City’s winning run halted by 1-1 Southampton draw audio
Manchester City’s Premier League title push has suffered a dent this weekend after Pep Guardiola’s side were held to a 1-1 draw at Southampton.
Preview: Leicester aim to bounce back from midweek embarrassment against Brighton audio
Brighton hope to make it seven games without defeat as they travel to the King Power on Sunday
Preview: Leaders Manchester City look to extend lead against Southampton audio
League leaders Manchester City look to maintain their gap on the challenging pack as they travel south to face Southampton at St Mary’s in the Premier League on Saturday
Say Hello to The Sport Social Podcast Network…
Athletics Basketball Cricket Fight Sports Football Golf Horse Racing Motor Racing Rugby Tennis
Create, Discover, Listen
Aston Villa
Brighton and Hove Albion
Crystal Palace
Leeds United
Leicester City
Manchester City
Manchester United
Newcastle United
Norwich City
Tottenham Hotspur
West Ham United
Wolverhampton Wanderers